Meet Sister Cities: Teaching Artist Anne Agresta Dugan

anne
Anne Agresta Dugan is a Sister Cities Teaching Artist at Leap Academy and Memphis Street Academy.
Tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m a former public school music teacher, have taught voice privately for 17 years and sing professionaly in oratorio, opera and recital. I moved to the Philly area a little over a year ago and love it. My husband, Tim and I have 3 children; Grace, Helen and Timothy.

Why did you decide to work for Sister Cities?

I have been looking to get back to working with groups of kids for some time. Most of my teaching experience is in a city school district with middle schoolers and so that is what had been peaking my interest as I looked around. I also have a business where I do a lot of empowerment work with individuals and I was looking for the opportunity to combine both my musical gifts and my leadership skills to empower kids. Sister Cities is a perfect fit!

What is your favorite thing about working for Sister Cities?
I am truly loving the energy of the girls. The other teaching artists are fantastic and the mission is one I am incredibly passionate about. All of it!
What hobbies/activities do you enjoy in your spare time?
I love to knit and read. I practice yoga regularly and I love hanging out with my kids!
Do you have a favorite SCG song?
After our MLK tour [on February 20th], I have to say ‘Girl in the Mirror’ – the girls sang their hearts out and I’m so proud of them!
Leave a Reply

