Girlchoir Northeast Featured in The Star

Sister Cities Girlchoir’s Saturday program, Girlchoir Northeast, was recently featured in The Star News. The article, titled “Girlpower,” highlighted our music for social change programming for girls in Philadelphia. Girlchoir Northeast, which draws students from around the city, recently found a new home at the First Presbyterian Church in Kensington after its former rehearsal space, Walter Palmer Leadership Charter, had to close.

Many of our girls were quoted in the article about their experiences in the choir. Read an excerpt below, then head over to The Star’s website to read the full article.

“You get to spend time with one an­oth­er and do something that I really like to do, which is singing,” said Tyler, 11. “It really helps me ex­press my­self more.” 

“I have learned lan­guages that I don’t speak on the reg­u­lar,” said Allyson, 16, ref­er­en­cing a Por­tuguese song the group sang. “And my singing has im­proved a lot.”

About why she likes mu­sic, Ruth, 13, spoke of mu­sic’s emo­tion­al power. 

“If I’m mad or sad about something, I’ll just start singing,” she said. “It makes me feel bet­ter.”

Jada, 12, was straight­for­ward about why she chose to re­turn to the pro­gram for a second year. 

“I came back be­cause of the simple fact [that] it’s awe­some,” Jada said. “You can be your­self and nobody will judge you.” 

Leave a Reply

