SCG Teaching Artist profile: Meet Ms. Ruth!

Ms. Ruth has been a Sister Cities Conductor since the 2014-2015 season!

ruth

When did you become a musician and why do you love it?

Music has always been part of my life. I always sang with my family and in the children’s choir since I was 5. I decided to make music my career when I was in high school.

I love music because it’s a way to express and communicate what I feel and think. Music also connects me to the past; past emotions and experiences.

 What kinds of performing and teaching do you do currently?

I teach at SCG and the Trenton Children’s Chorus. I also give private piano lessons. A big part of my musical life is being Music Director at the First Presbyterian Church in Rahway NJ. There I play piano and organ, conduct the adult choir and the Bell Choir.

Who is one of your biggest musical influences?

 My musical influences are my first piano teachers, Diana Figueroa and Bruni Salvatella. They always pushed me to be better, to get out of my comfort zone. They are both great musicians and teachers who give everything to their students.

 Why do you love working with SCG?

SCG is an awesome organization. It gives me the opportunity to work with amazing girls who empower each other to be the best.

What’s something interesting we should know about you?

When I was young I didn’t want to be a teacher. It wasn’t until my senior year in high school that I started to change my mind about teaching. A friend and I ran a rehearsal of our high school choir and, even though it was very challenging, I enjoyed it a lot!

Leave a Reply

