We are family…meet Ms. Anne!

Ms. Anne has been with Sister Cities since our 2013 season and conducts the choirs in Camden and the Travel choir on Saturday. 

img_3778
When did you become a musician and why do you love it?  I have been a musician all my life. As one of 10 children we all sang and played instruments, both at home and in school. As kids we always had a Christmas Eve talent show and we did a lot more music making than TV watching..maybe that makes me sound old, but I loved it!! I love the way music is universal and touches a part of someone that no words, pictures, tv shows or books can do. I believe it’s the ultimate form of communication and healing.

What kinds of performing and teaching do you do currently? In addition to teaching with Sister Cities (which rocks!) I am a private voice teacher and sing professionally as a soloist with choirs, a recitalist and I also sing concerts and church music. This year I also started singing in a Symphonic Choir with the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Who is one of your biggest musical influences?
 I can think of 3 actually! First- my Dad, who plays the accordion. My earliest memories of music are dancing around the living room while he played and sang. Also, I had 2 really passionate and creative music teachers in middle and high school who were examples of great teaching and believed in me both as a performer and a teacher. I am forever grateful for them!

What’s something interesting we should know about you? Even though they sing, I am afraid of birds!!

Leave a Reply

