Get to know Miss Emily!

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 2.44.57 PM.png

When did you love for music begin? Why do you love music?

I started piano lessons when I was 5 years old. I love being a musician because there is always something new to learn. I went to college and graduate school for different piano degrees, and I’m still learning! I love exploring different styles, artists, and composers.  Music has also opened a lot of doors for me to travel to different places and learn new skills.

Besides Sister Cities, what other musical work do you do?

Right now, I play for a lot of choirs – I play for the men’s choir at Villanova University and I also direct a church choir. I also do some freelancing accompanying students on their recitals at area schools.

Who is your biggest musical influence?

My biggest musical influences have been my teachers. I still think of things my piano teacher told me when I was little, because they still apply to my playing today!

What is one of your favorite things about Sister Cities?

I love working with SCG because it reminds me of some of my musical experiences growing up.  Some of my best friends were made in music programs outside of my school, and I love being part of a program that brings girls together from other schools to hang out and make music and form friendships. The SCG girls might not know it yet, but they’re going to be friends for the rest of their lives! I love being part of an organization that allows that to happen.

What is a fun fact about yourself?

I’ve lived in 5 states and been to 9 different countries!

Leave a Reply

