Getting to know Mr. Christian!

unnamed.jpg

     1. When did you become a musician and why do you love it?

I began my musical studies at a young age. I’ve always taken it seriously and never treated it as a hobby. Asking a musician why we love music is always a tough question and one that demands much thought/reflection. For me, music has a healing power.

A wise teacher once explained to me: we don’t know who our audience is or why they attend. It’s our responsibility, as artists, to transport them away from wherever or whatever is going on in their lives.

As performers, whether it be soloist or choir, a performance we give may mean more to them than we could ever know. As a musician, I don’t seek approval, praise or gratitude; the silent appreciation at times, is what keeps me performing to the best of my ability.

  1. What kinds of performing and teaching do you do currently?

Aside from accompanying choirs at SCG, I have teaching studios throughout New Jersey. In addition, I hold organist/choir director responsibilities in Beverly and Absecon (NJ). Performance wise, I’ve performed throughout the states as well as in Italy and France.

  1. Who is one of your biggest musical influences?

If I had to give this “title” to anyone, it would have to go to my first teacher, Dr. Christine Hansen. She shaped me into the musician that I am today by challenging me at a young age, while providing ample performance opportunities.

  1. Why do you love working with SCG?

Aside from SGC’s mission and purpose within the community and abroad, I really enjoy our productive rehearsals; I believe our conductors bring out the best in these girls. I observe the work put forth when pieces are introduced through final touches before a performance. Hearing them express the music, not just singing accurate notes, is always a moving moment for me as an accompanist.

I also love the joint concerts that take place when we combine choirs from Philadelphia and Camden. This combined choir doesn’t rehearse weekly, and yet they are able to perform together with a quick dress rehearsal. I think this illustrates how unifying music is. I feel this way every time we perform and it’s why I love working with this fine group of artists.

  1. What’s something interesting we should know about you?

Piano was not my first instrument of study, it was actually one of my last.

Leave a Reply

